City Council


View the City of Sammamish YouTube channel for current and past City Council meetings, view meeting details, sign up for email alerts or email the City Council directly.

About the City Council

The Sammamish City Council is elected at large by the community to represent their interests. The Council selects one of its members to serve as Mayor and another to serve as Deputy Mayor. It also appoints members to Advisory Boards, which advise the council on various matters.

The city council selects the city manager to act as the chief executive officer of the city. The City Council sets policy for the governance of the City and relies on the city manager to implement the Council's established policies and regulations. Regular council meetings are held on the first Tuesday and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m., with a study session on the second Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. A Committee Meeting of the Whole will be held on the third Monday as necessary. If necessary, study sessions or special meetings may be scheduled at 5:30 p.m., before a regular meeting.

Agendas are posted to the City of Sammamish CivicWeb portal the preceding Friday. Each council meeting includes time for public comment (up to three minutes for individuals and five minutes for those representing groups) and speakers, typically the first order of business after convening. Additional public comment may be available for agenda items, individuals and speakers on behalf of groups may address an item at that time.

For issues requiring follow-up action, it is helpful to have your comments submitted in writing either prior to or at the meeting along with information on how to contact you.



Christie Malchow, Mayor (term ends 12/31/2019)

Karen MoranDeputy Mayor (term ends 12/31/2021)

Tom Hornish, Council Member (term ends 12/31/2019)

Jason Ritchie, Council Member (term ends 12/31/2021)

Chris Ross, Council Member (term ends 12/31/2021)

Pamela Stuart, Council Member (term ends 12/31/2021)

Ramiro Valderrama, Council Member (term ends 12/31/2019)



Date Meeting Info Agenda Minutes Video
12/20/2011 5:30 PM
12/19/2011 6:30 PM
12/13/2011 6:30 PM
12/06/2011 6:30 PM
11/15/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers Attending: Mayor Don Gerend Councilmember Nancy Whitten
11/14/2011 6:30 PM
Joint Meeting with Planning Commission
11/08/2011 6:30 PM
11/01/2011 6:30 PM
10/18/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers Attending: Mayor Don Gerend Deputy Mayor Tom Odell Councilmember John James
10/17/2011 6:30 PM
10/11/2011 6:30 PM
10/04/2011 6:30 PM
09/20/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers Attending: Nancy Whitten
09/19/2011 6:30 PM
09/13/2011 6:30 PM
09/06/2011 6:30 PM
07/19/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers Attending: Don Gerend John Curley John James
07/18/2011 6:30 PM
07/12/2011 6:30 PM
07/05/2011 6:30 PM
06/21/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers Attending: Deputy Mayor Tom Odell
06/20/2011 6:30 PM
06/14/2011 6:30 PM
06/07/2011 5:30 PM
This meeting will begin with a closed Executive Session. The open meeting will begin at 6:30 pm
05/25/2011 6:00 PM
565 NW Holly Street Issaquah, WA 98027
05/17/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers in Attendance: Councilmember John Curley Councilmember Michele Petitti
05/16/2011 6:30 PM
05/10/2011 5:30 PM
05/03/2011 6:30 PM
04/19/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers in Attendance: Mayor Don Gerend Councilmember John James
04/18/2011 5:00 PM
Please Note: The meeting time has been changed to 5:00 pm. The Council will hold a closed Executive Session from 5:00 pm to 6:30 pm. The Regular Meeting will begin at 6:30 pm.
04/12/2011 6:30 PM
04/05/2011 6:30 PM
03/21/2011 5:30 PM
03/15/2011 5:30 PM
Councilmembers Attending: Councilmember Michele Petitti Councilmember Mark Cross
03/10/2011 6:30 PM
The joint meeting will be held at: Tibbets Manor 750 17th Avenue NW Issaquah, WA 9827
03/08/2011 5:30 PM
03/01/2011 6:30 PM
02/15/2011 6:30 PM
02/14/2011 6:30 PM
02/08/2011 6:30 PM
02/07/2011 5:30 PM
Deputy Mayor Tom Odell will be in attendance.
02/05/2011 8:00 AM
02/04/2011 8:00 AM
02/03/2011 12:00 PM
02/01/2011 6:30 PM
01/18/2011 6:30 PM
01/17/2011 6:30 PM
01/17/2011 5:30 PM
01/11/2011 6:30 PM
01/04/2011 6:30 PM
Staff Contact